Search
Generic filters

“Come and share my passion for heritage”

Stéphane Bern

In the heart of a typical Percheron village, come and discover a unique ensemble :
the former Royal and Military College and its garden, bought and restored by Stéphane Bern.

 

Next event: Advent Lyrical Concert, Sunday, December 19, 2021, at 6 pm

An intimate museum

Designed by Stéphane Bern himself, the museum traces the rich history of the site, from the first monks of the Order of Tiron to the recent restoration work.

A historical garden

Stroll through a unique space of great botanical wealth where the shapes, colors and textures of thousands of plants and flowers blend harmoniously.

A gourmet tea room

Come and enjoy a relaxing moment over a cup of tea and delicious pastries, either in the sun in front of the orangery or in the shade of the orchard.

Stéphane Bern welcomes you to the Royal Military College


While presenting my programs “Secrets d’Histoire”, “le village préféré des Français”, “le monument préféré des Français” or more recently “Visites Privées” on France 2, I have become aware of how crucial it is for each of us to defend the national heritage.
When the State offered me to buy the former royal and military college of Thiron-Gardais, I had no right to shirk this exciting challenge, especially since the buildings were threatening to fall into ruin.

I committed myself to rehabilitate this historic monument, to open in the old 17th century classrooms a museum dedicated to the royal and military colleges of France created in 1776 and to make this restored heritage – in its green setting – available to the public. Such is the mission I have assigned myself, feeling more like the custodian of a historical heritage than its exclusive owner and I am happy to share this incredible adventure with you.

The association of the Royal and Military College of Thiron-Gardais


An association under the law of 1901 “Royal and Military College of Thiron-Gardais” created in 2015 has set itself the objectives of enhancing the site, filling it with life and enriching the collections of the exhibition rooms.

They speak about it with love


Gauthier Capuçon

“A place of beauty”

“I have had the pleasure of playing my cello several times at the Collège Royal et Militaire de Thiron-Gardais with my friend Stéphane Bern. What a joy to share music in this inspiring haven of peace that he has restored with his love of heritage, a place of great beauty surrounded by its sumptuous gardens and parks. The presence of the students of the Collège Royal et Militaire still hovers in this house full of history and I look forward to my next visit.”

Marie Hénocq

“A place that transports you”

“Each area of the site takes us on a unique journey, from the rigor of the formal garden to the gentle madness of the labyrinth. I have a particular soft spot for the peaceful orchard that offers an unparalleled view of the College and the abbey church. As the site manager, it’s a real joy to see the place evolve with the seasons.”

Search
Generic filters

« Venez partager ma passion pour le patrimoine »

Stéphane Bern

Au cœur d’un village percheron typique, venez découvrir un ensemble unique :
l’ancien Collège Royal et Militaire et son jardin, rachetés et restaurés par Stéphane Bern.

 

Prochain événement : Concert lyrique de l’avent, le dimanche 19 décembre 2021, à 18h

Ouverture des réservations prochainement.

Un musée intime

Conçu par Stéphane Bern lui-même, le musée retrace la riche histoire du site, des premiers moines de l’Ordre de Tiron aux récents travaux de restauration.

Un jardin historique

Déambulez dans un espace unique d’une grande richesse botanique où se mêlent avec harmonie les formes, couleurs et textures de milliers de plantes et de fleurs.

Un salon de thé gourmand

Au soleil devant l’orangerie ou à l’ombre du verger, venez profiter d’un instant de détente autour d’une tasse de thé et de délicieuses pâtisseries.

Stéphane Bern vous souhaite la bienvenue au Collège royal et militaire.


En présentant mes émissions « Secrets d’Histoire », « le village préféré des Français », « le monument préféré des Français » ou plus récemment « Visites Privées » sur France 2, j’ai pris conscience de l’enjeu crucial pour chacun d’entre nous de défendre le patrimoine national.
Lorsque l’Etat m’a proposé de racheter l’ancien collège royal et militaire de Thiron-Gardais, je n’avais pas le droit de me dérober à cet exaltant défi, d’autant que les bâtiments menaçaient ruine.

Je me suis alors engagé à réhabiliter ce monument historique, à ouvrir dans les anciennes salles de classe du 17ème siècle un musée dédié aux collèges royaux et militaires de France créés en 1776 et à mettre ce patrimoine restauré – dans son écrin de verdure – à la disposition du public. C’est cette mission que je me suis assignée, me sentant davantage dépositaire d’un patrimoine historique que son propriétaire exclusif et je suis heureux de partager cette folle aventure avec vous.

L’association du Collège royal
et militaire de Thiron-Gardais


Une association loi 1901 « Collège royal et militaire de Thiron-Gardais » créée en 2015 s’est fixé pour objectifs de mettre en valeur le site, de l’animer et d’enrichir les collections des salles d’exposition.

Ils en parlent avec amour


Gauthier Capuçon

“Un lieu de toute beauté”

« J’ai eu le plaisir de faire résonner mon violoncelle plusieurs fois au Collège Royal et Militaire de Thiron Gardais chez mon ami Stéphane Bern. Quel bonheur de partager la musique dans ce havre de paix si inspirant qu’il a restauré avec son amour du patrimoine, un lieu de toute beauté entouré de ses jardins et parcs somptueux. La présence des étudiants du Collège Royal et Militaire plane encore dans cette demeure chargée d’histoire et il me tarde d’y retourner. »

Marie Hénocq

“Un lieu qui vous transporte”

« Chaque espace du site nous fait voyager dans une atmosphère unique, de la rigueur du jardin à la française jusqu’à la douce folie du labyrinthe. J’ai un faible tout particulier pour le paisible verger qui offre une vue sans pareil sur le Collège et l’église abbatiale. En tant que responsable du site, c’est un véritable bonheur de voir le lieu évoluer au fil des saisons. »